This article contains information for University staff only.

Staff are encouraged to use Drive File Stream which is already installed on your staff machines instead of Backup and Sync. All differences between the two can be found on this page.

Drive File Stream

A notable advantage of Drive File Stream is that Team Drives files can be used. By default a copy of your files is not stored on your computer. This means that if you do not have an internet connection you will not be able to access them. If you require access to certain files when you are not online right click the file or folder and select Available Offline. Please note that this would store the file on your hard drive taking up space.

Backup and Sync

The Backup and Sync will create a back up for any folders it is configured for. By default those are Desktop, Documents and Pictures.

All the files, and folders of your choice can be synced from your My Drive. They can be access from the shortcut created on your desktop called "Google Drive".

Any files you store in this folder will be uploaded to your Google Drive cloud storage and any work or files you create in the Google Drive web application will be downloaded to the Google Drive folder on your computer. Any files or folders you delete from the local folder will also be deleted from Drive on the web.

Google drive icon

The Backup and Sync application can be installed from Software Center which can be found by typing Software Center in the start menu .

Installation instructions

  1. Once Backup and Sync has installed you will need to launch it from the start menu.
  2. Select Get Started.
  3. You will be prompted to sign in to your Google Apps account.
  4. You will see a window which explains how the Backup and Sync application before each section.
  5. In the My Laptop step you can choose which folders to back up to the Google Drive.
  6. In the Google Drive step if you would like to synchronise specific folders from your My Drive, select Sync these folders only....
    If you would like your entire Google Drive to be synchronised, select Sync everything in My drive.
    If you do not want to sync any files from you My drive uncheck Sync My Drive to this computer
    PLEASE NOTE: If you choose to synchronise your entire Google Drive, a large volume of data may be downloaded onto your computer the first time the synchronisation runs. Subsequent synchronisation events will only upload and download new or changed files.

The Backup and Sync application runs as a System Tray application. The application status and options can be accessed by clicking on the Drive icon in the System Tray.

Back up and Sync icon in Sytem Tray


Share
Email
Facebook
Twitter
Reddit
Subscribe
Enter your email address to receive a notification when the article is updated
Email Address
Subscribe
Unsubscribe
Share
To
Subject
Message
Send

Was this article helpful
Thank you for your feedback
How can we improve?